Check TWRP-Version if ROM-Inst. not flawless!

ROMs, Mods, Discussion and all other Topics about the Xiaomi RedMi 4 (prada), RedMi 4 Pro (markw) and RedMi 4A (rolex).

Moderator: dr4kendroid

User avatar
MLandsp
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Nov 2017, 16:07
Thanks received: 1

Check TWRP-Version if ROM-Inst. not flawless!

Postby MLandsp » 12 Nov 2017, 21:20

Thought as a hint for Globe-ROM Users-
might be good if i share my experience after "Updating" my cofface-TWRP 3.0.something- the one you must blindly change to english ;)
Installed the "official TWRP App" and installed a newer Version, 3.1.something.
The next Update- as always only wiped /system and the caches- made small problem, only the base ROM was installed, no beauty mod, no center clock, no nothing- last time (today) it not even had root... so i started to find the problem.
TWRP was not my first candidate- but i remembered something is going wrong since i've updated.
Luckily i found over XDA-Developers a link to a TWRP 3.1.0 from cofface...
Link: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5fMtc ... N6eTA/view
since i've installed this- exacly said the 3.1.0-3 version- everything is running 100% ok again!

Maybe it helps someone...

PS: Phone is the redmi 4x santoni "Pro" (means global version)
and to introduce myself a bit: located in germany/bavaria, 25 Years PC-hobbyist, advanced Linux-beginner, married with children-
and my wife wants a Xiaomi-Phone too now ;)
...took some time, but now she has seen how "premium" her S6edge is :D
So i know the present for her on Xmas... 8-)

User avatar
dr4kendroid
Developer / Admin
Developer / Admin
Posts: 1100
Joined: 21 Nov 2016, 09:20
Phone Model: Mi 5 , Mi 6
Thanks received: 427
Contact:

Re: Check TWRP-Version if ROM-Inst. not flawless!

Postby dr4kendroid » 12 Nov 2017, 21:29

Thanks for sharing your experience. If you have problems in future, just upload the globeROM logfile and we will help you :)
Image
Find us on Facebook

User avatar
MLandsp
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Nov 2017, 16:07
Thanks received: 1

Re: Check TWRP-Version if ROM-Inst. not flawless!

Postby MLandsp » 22 Jan 2018, 20:09

Have to add one more experience-
still unclear to me why, but same thing happened again to me, only "base System" was installed.
Seemed as would /system be no more RW mounted after base system was installed.
So i tried the official TWRP, yes, the one with the encrypted /data thing...
made /dataBackup with old TWRP, updated to official 3.2.1.0 from https://dl.twrp.me/santoni/
formattet /data, restored Backup, formatted /system (and caches, of course) and voila:
works like a charme, with every selected and deselected feature, without any data lost!

Just as a hint, maybe it helps people who are not sure about the /data thing with some TWRP-Versions.
If you Backup and restore it, there's no Problem and no data lost :)

I'm still not sure what's sometimes making problems, but i think, not the mi-globe Roms are the reason.
If there was something faulty, it would make problems with every TWRP Version.
Maybe it has something to with the encrypted /data part, because since reformatting everithing works excellent.

Again: try to update your TWRP if there's something not as it should be, but if everything works, think about it twice ^^
(you know, never change a runnung system- or make at least a backup first :D )


Return to “RedMi 4 / Pro / A”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest



Xiaomi MI MIX 2S 4G Phablet 6GB RAM Glob

569.99 $
Coupon:     Flash Sale
2018-05-18

Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 4G Phablet 3GB RAM G

199.99 $
Coupon:     Flash Sale
2018-05-18

XIAOMI Mi A1 4G Phablet 4GB RAM Global V

173.99 $
Coupon:     GBsale193
2018-05-14

Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus 4G Phablet 3GB RAM G

165.99 $
Coupon:     Flash Sale
2018-05-14

Xiaomi Redmi 5A 4G Smartphone 2GB RAM Gl

85.99 $
Coupon:     GBsale190
2018-05-14